The North Trail and Rocks

April 4, 2013 § 13 Comments


View at the beginning of the hike

View at the beginning of the hike

 

The North Trail, that is my name for one section of the trail.  It’s our newest section of trail, redone, with the tractor.  Trail work is a never ending job, so to make it easier, last year we rerouted one section of the trail where we could get the tractor through for easier maintenance.  Otherwise it is get out there with a weed eater at least a couple of times of year and a rake – it is slow going and hand blistering even with gloves.

I will admit that this is my first time out on the trail this year.  When the weather got cold I hibernated inside, well not totally.  We traveled twice since the new year to see our grandson, and worked on two grandiose house projects which totally

Some big rocks

Some big rocks

took every spare moment of time.

My muscles were sore afterward.  But, I decided that with the beginning of April that I would put in at least three miles of walking each day.  I found the trail to be in good shape after the winter rest.  There were only two trees down that had fallen across the trail, one of which will be nice firewood.  The weather was perfect for walking yesterday, and the sky was incredibly blue.  My picture taking skills are not the greatest.  My husband always reminds me that there is an editing feature.  The pictures taken here were done with an iphone, one of the older models.  I have resisted updating due to the cost.

Another outcropping of big rocks

Another outcropping of big rocks

Although I prefer lush greenness during a hike, this time of year is perfect for rock hunting.  I am rock crazy.  Luckily the supply never seems to end on our farm.  We have rocked a good portion of the house.  We use them for ponds.  We built a rock wall out front.  We still have two small buildings to rock.  And after that, possibly the barn.  We even rocked a floor for one section of the barn.  My uncle once asked if there were any rock left on Trough Camp.

While walking I was planning for our next rock gathering adventure which I hope we can fit in this weekend.  That involves hooking up the wagon to the tractor and loading it with as many as we can carry back.  And then there is garden preparation and planting also planned for this weekend.

Not far into the trail I grew tired of taking pictures.  That is my husband’s forte.

The following pictures will give you some idea of what we use the rocks for.

Tagged: , ,

§ 13 Responses to The North Trail and Rocks

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The North Trail and Rocks at athursdayschild.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

