Spirituality

Life-Changing Books

About four years ago I discovered a life-changing book.  It was “Where There is Light” by Paramahansa Yogananda.  I was leaving to pick up my husband from work and hurriedly grabbed a book from the bookcase to read while waiting in the parking lot.  The pure truth of it resonated with me like embracing a forgotten part of my soul.  I examined the book trying to visualize how it happened to be on my bookshelf.  I could usually remember how each book came to me.  I finally remembered it came from A.R.E. as a free gift.  It truly was a gift, one that I had neglected for years, but as they say…. when the time is right, or when the student is ready the teacher will come.

I had never heard of Yogananda until that book.  The next book to follow was his most famous, “Autobiography of a Yogi.”  His other books followed.  It was the beginning of a change in spiritual course for both my husband and I.

I recently got the unaltered version of “Autobiography of a Yogi,” and am now re-reading.  Hardly a day has passed since that first day of discovery that I have not read the words of Yogananda.  I am so incredibly thankful for his teaching.

2 thoughts on “Life-Changing Books

  1. I read this book when I was in my teens. The stories were narrated to me by mom when I was 7 maybe! She was scared that I may take to wanderings reading it n so had kept it away..
    Interestingly, the book kept coming back for a reading and left me immediately after I read it over. It’s long overdue- I need to read it again. I have all the other books written by him- excepting “The Autobiography of a Yogi”
    Anytime I read his book, a huge change flutters my life- such is its power!

    Stay blessed
    Hugs xx

Leave a Reply

